Author Topic: I found my love in Portofino....  (Read 11592 times)

Offline sidestreaker

I found my love in Portofino....
« on: July 02, 2013, 03:04:46 AM »
Hi all,

I'm rather new in collecting watches and have been lurking around for sometime now. I have been doing some soul-searching and trying to find a watch that can speak a little bit about myself. Clearly, choosing a watch is a very personal choice and one would find a balance between getting rational advice from more experience collectors, forums and the ‘community’ (such as all the sifus here) and a more emotional response when deciding the aesthetics to the wearer.

Just like any other lay-person, I’ve started off by getting the general vibes like how Rolex is the most rational choice of precious timepiece, that not only do they look great but hold better value than most brands. I was introduced to PP, VC and Frank Muller by my elder brother as his favourite luxury brands with a price tag that is beyond us mortals. Also, throughout the years, I’ve seen friends, acquaintance, family and relatives flashing their timepiece as a conversation starter.

Seriously, for the longest time, I had no clue on what does automatic or quartz was all about. The closest thing that’s considered horology education for me was the infamous advertisements of Seiko Kinetics and Rado’s Saphire Glass in the 90s. Back then, I thought, WOW, I gotta get me one of these cool sh*t when I start making my own money!

So, after many relationships with countless quartz and digital watches, which are mainly Christmas or birthday gifts or compulsive purchases and sometimes freebies from various sources, I have decided to at last take my first proper step into the world of horology.