Author Topic: SOP for selling in Carousell or strangers.  (Read 5110 times)

Offline Dee

SOP for selling in Carousell or strangers.
« on: February 14, 2021, 11:53:24 AM »
Hi all sifu and otai sekalian. I posted my watch 2017 rolex explorer 214270 on Carousell yesterday since I’m new here I couldn’t post to sell here yet.

However, to my surprise. I’ve already have like 6-7 very keen enquiries and offers.

This is my first time selling. I know i could just go to a dealer. But as we all know the price quoted definitely be lower although it comes with assurance that I wont be conned.

When selling to strangers how do you all decide:-

1) where to meet
2) what to allow and not allowed during inspection
3) payment mode
4) etc? What else should i pay attention to?

Kindly advise. Thank you so much otai otai sekalian.

Offline bulletnos

Re: SOP for selling in Carousell or strangers.
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2021, 02:05:07 PM »
Hi Dee,

I can't guarantee that any method is fool-proof, but here are some of my personal thoughts:

1 - usually in a public place, but not out in the open (in case they run off!) - eg. Starbucks, at a not so busy corner, etc.

2 - let them hold briefly, inspect. if possible, take their other watch as collateral (if its worth as much haha). I usually dont let them try to wipe the watch, or wear it on and walk around. Just seated, calm inspection.

3 - Cash if below RM5k I guess is OK. But anything above, online transfer. Standby a laptop. Make sure you determine with the buyer in advance how he/she intends to pay you. If online, remind them to unblock their limits - sufficient to enable the full transfer. Never accept partial transfers and promises to do a subsequent one after they take the watch! If before they take the watch - then OK!