Author Topic: 3 divers, Rm 12k, 1decision . UPDATE : Decision made , with pictures !!  (Read 20836 times)

Offline Dr.j

HI all
As the title suggest, i am in the market for a new watch. I have done some homework, so i thought i will like some opinion regarding my choices.
A little background. I am fairly new to watches, and this is going to be my first nice watch. Going to wear this watch to any occasions , and it will be a couple of years before i buy another watch. I love a little heritage in the piece , because it just gives a watch so much character. Enuf said. On with the choices

1) Tudor Heritage Chronograph

In the last couple of years, Tudor have shrug off the lil' brother to Rolex image and moving up the horology ladder. This year Basel 's release just stole the thunder from Rolex (Sky Dweller anyone?) .No longer is it using hand me downs designs from Rolex but its coming out with some really exciting time pieces.
This particular model caught my eye , and i just love the play of colours. It comes with a nato strap so its very versatile. The fact that its based on the Monte carlo makes it that much more appealing.
The downside however it the size. Its 42mm, but with the thin bezel, it wears larger IMHO. I have a 6.25" wrist, so it looks abit awkward.
 ETA... okay, i could live with that, but for rm 12k..hmm...

2) Omega Planet Ocean 2500

Its recently discontinued , in line with Omega's plans to fit the new in house 8500 in all its watches. This is really the last chance to get one new. A very good looking watch and very versatile. Its based on the classic SM300 dive watch, so you cant go wrong here. Its definitely a future classic.
Dollar for dollar , its hard to argue that this watch is just as good as other watches double in price ( no need to mention names here)