Author Topic: Pre owned shops  (Read 7913 times)

Offline YSS

Pre owned shops
« on: July 27, 2010, 08:53:56 AM »
Hi to all sifus, i'm a newbie here and am also new to the fine art of watch collectimg. I am looking to purchase a watch likely a pam, iwc pilot or a jlc master series. During my search i visited some pre owned wqtch shops in bts, ampang park, bangsar, etc. I noticed that most of the watches sold in these places particularly cxx in ampang do not have boxes or paper to go with the watches. Sounds a bit fishy to me. Hence just would appreciate some of your views on how safe it is to purchase from them.

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: July 27, 2010, 02:08:26 PM by scottchung1128 »

Offline ck77

• Global Moderator
Re: Pre owned shops
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2010, 09:00:11 AM »
usually is safe. if doubt, bring to distributor to verify.
but first thing first, do some research and know your stuffs.
caveat emptor.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2010, 09:02:02 AM by ck77 »

Offline kltime

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2010, 01:33:20 PM »

First in foremost to me- buy the seller first,before buying his goods. From research and reading the threads you would know how to seperate the trustworthy vendors from the rest.
Its kind of hard sometimes to verify the originality of the watches just by handling it in the shop,unless u r one of the sifus here. The good replicas could be close to 100% of the original including a swiss engine inside...

Offline David_cheong

« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2010, 04:43:44 PM »
Not all preowned watches comes in complete set. Those without papers / box takes less (cost) than the complete ones.

Depending whom you deal with. yes, I agreed - buy the seller first.

dc
I am almost a recovered watchaholic, but last checked shows only 70% recovered. How?

Offline ttfjon

« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2010, 01:00:32 PM »