Author Topic: IWC Watch Making Class  (Read 8209 times)

Offline sidestreaker

IWC Watch Making Class
« on: July 07, 2013, 02:05:55 PM »
Hi all,

I've mentioned in the other thread that I'll share an IWC watchmaking class session. Here's a brief report just to share the session which took place in Abu Dhabi's Etihad Towers, sponsored by Richemont and the local IWC crew, in November 2012. 

I’ve only recently got into the world of fine timepiece and have been reading up a lot to try educate myself, especially when it comes to making decision on which watch buy. Previously, if you were to ask me what is a balance spring or a balance wheel, I’d have given you a blank look...( not that I’m an expert now anyway, just a little better informed). As much as I am influenced by the aesthetic and appearance of a dial of watch and its functionality, I am intrigued with the whole business of mechanisms, innovations of mechanical watches over the years and the historical development of certain calibres that survived to this day.

Last November, I was invited to an IWC watch-making class. During this watch making class we were introduced  to Hannes Pantli and Christian Bresser. Mr Hannes is a member of the board of directors, and Chris is part of the complications team in IWC. He gets to assemble all the wonderful Perpetual Calenders and other high-complication pieces and limited editions in IWC. We were in good hands!

Mr Hannes has such a positive aura which is hard to explain. A man of such experience and influence just exudes great presence. Here’s the room set and ready for us to butcher a watch caliber. It was lead by Chris and accompanied by his guidance and a series of slides and diagrams to illustrate the technicalities and definitions of the parts we were about to dissemble and re-assemble.

Do not let this picture of calm fool you. Jumping screws and groans of frustration were frequent occurrences here. I reckoned I didn’t look too bad in the lab coat.