Author Topic: Vintage Zenith  (Read 11298 times)

Offline hanz079

• Global Moderator
  • I is Rocks!!
    • WATCHIONABLE
Vintage Zenith
« on: January 11, 2012, 08:27:32 AM »
Been digging around for some vintage Zenith info and I found some things that I would like to share.

As you guys know, I have been itching for a New Vintage 1969 pictured below.

I was curious as to where this watch got it's roots from.
So I found these.

Now I see the resemblance.
Although the vintage models measures at 38mm (New Vintage is 40mm), I am abit surprised that the vintage pieces can be had for under 10k (New vintage is around 25k) if you search hard enough.
Powered by the vintage El Primero 3019PHC... it was the 1st iteration of the then just released 1st automatic chronograph movement.
Later renamed to caliber 400 and 400Z after some modifications.
This is when Rolex used this Zenith Caliber for its Daytona watches.
Now, El Primero Movements are reserved exclusively for Zenith Watches and even sister company Tag can't use them anymore (Tag Caliber 36)

And when I was in HK, I tried out the Stratos Flyback and kinda liked it... too bad for the price and the 45mm case size. A picture here.

Now I did more digging and I found out that the Stratos Flyback actually draws inspiration from the Rainbow Flyback launched in the year 1997 and discontinued at 2001.
Here's the brochure that I found on the Rainbow Flyback.

Apparently the Rainbow Flyback is linked to the French Air Force.
According to sources on the net.
1000 pcs were made for the croc band coloured dial model, 3000 pcs for the ss bracelet coloured dial model and 4000 pcs were made for the ss bracelet black dial model.

Funny thing is, for the Coloured Dial models, the dial read Zenith El Primero Automatic... with no mention of Flyback except on the caseback engraving.
While the black dial reads Zenith El Primero Flyback... with no mention of Automatic.  ???