Author Topic: Paul Newman Daytona - The Hype ?  (Read 3705 times)

Offline acurusaragon

Paul Newman Daytona - The Hype ?
« on: October 19, 2020, 08:02:55 AM »
I was recently jump into some area of this  Rolex-ish

and Stumble upon the Hyped Paul Newman Daytona as a super Grail watch for some.

and so happen watched "Crazy Rich Asian" over the weekend where a daughter of this rich family was giving a whats look like a daytona to her "from normal family"  husband . 

Anybody can share thought of this watch if any ?

-sam

Offline IamJacky

Re: Paul Newman Daytona - The Hype ?
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2020, 09:58:43 AM »
I'm relatively new to the Rolex world and I've always loved the look of a Speedmaster. But when I stumbled upon the vintage Daytona, particularly reference 6263, I was immediately captured by its aesthetics - the black acrylic bezel which accompanies the white dials and three black little sub-dials, or what people called the Panda Dial.

I am not sure if Rolex ever released another Daytona that comes close to this (IMO) minimalistic yet aesthetically pleasing design. It is the sole reason why I purchased the 116500LN ceramic Daytona because in my opinion, that watch is a modern iteration of the 6263.

I never knew 6263 was the "Paul Newman" watch; there seems to be a "normal" version of 6263 with a black dial which also has that perfect look IMO, but is also super expensive:

Basically to me, even before knowing this is a Paul Newman Daytona, I already loved the classic, timeless design. After finding out that it's a Paul Newman Daytona and the impossibly high price to get, the 116500LN was the next best thing.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2020, 07:47:16 PM by IamJacky »

Offline bulletnos

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2020, 04:10:26 PM »
Beautiful, simple and elegant indeed!

The original "Paul Newman" Daytona was the Ref 6239