Author Topic: I’m not an engineer, but I collect this ingenieur because of a designer!  (Read 23233 times)

Offline chrisyen

• Global Moderator
3 yrs ago, I read somewhere; some 1 said a watch collector must collect one of the Gerald Genta designed watches during his glory days!

Gerald Genta, a most famous watch designer. Yes, he is, and no doubt because he is the only watch designer been paid by so many important swiss watch brands for his designs until he set up his own brand!

Started from designing dial, case, indexes, bracelet for the factory… then solely for omega, a lot of omega watch during the time was his creation and most ppl think he is the designer of the famous original omega constellation despite no concrete evidence.

Later he designed a some watches for universal geneve, golden shadow and Polerouter was one of his famous creation at the age of 23

After that, he set up his own design firm; he actually designed for many many watch brands… Over the years, some of his designs are remain those brand best sellers like AP royal oak, bulgari bulgari… series. Even his own name brand Gerald genta also created a lot of famous design like mickey mouse, Donald duck retrograde hand, octo design…. etc
Out of all his famous designs, below is my likes follow sequence of my personal preference in terms of esthetic aspect
AP- Royal Oak 

IWC – Ingenieur

PP  - Nautilus

VC  - 222 (oversea)

If I’m rich enough, I’ll collect all the vintage pieces of above. How nice if I can afford to find and collect these big 4 genta designed watches

But sadly I’m not rich enough. So I decided to own one of these designs with modern tech… one day.

I almost buy the royal oak with Cal 3120 in few occasions because Royal Oak design is the best looking among the Gerald Genta designs. But I didn’t due to its size, just too small for my liking; I prefer to wear at least a 42mm watch.

PP Nautilus is not what like  and the price is far from my affordability,