Author Topic: Overseas purchased subjected to GST?  (Read 14043 times)

Offline ViiiLaix

Overseas purchased subjected to GST?
« on: March 17, 2015, 09:54:10 PM »
Hi guys, there's a question wondering in my head. Some of us like to purchased watch online at overseas mostly that EU so that we'll be benefited of the VAT saved (19%). For the moment (March 2015), watches is still subjected to tax-free in Msia, if the GST is implemented next April, how much is the damage imposed?

Based on my knowledge if i'm not mistaken, if the goods >500RM it will be categories as high value goods.
and it'll be subjected to 20%custom tax and 6%GST ? Let's say we bought ABC watch brand, that actually cost RM5000.
Now, will it be subjected to tax it'll become RM6360? And the difference is RM1360 with is quite a damage,
which already taken 27% of the actual watch price. Correct me if I'm wrong, newbie here. Lol. Please advice..

Is there a way to "take the cure" from this subject matter ?
A Quote from my favourite watchmaker "To break the rules, you must first master them."

Are there any sifus mind to share "unofficial path" for those who are not aware, so that they will not repeating their "wrong doing" action. Ship the watch under Return For Repair? Warranty claim? The seller mistakenly put a lower price?
Please advice for those who are not aware.

Thank you for sharing. :D

Offline dpkong

Re: Overseas purchased subjected to GST?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2015, 09:58:55 PM »
To break the rules, wear the watch on the wrist and not declare it...

Offline Friedrice

• qui parle trop manque souvent
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2015, 10:13:20 PM »
Well, from what I understand, if the watch is a one off and not for resale, it is tax exempted. So, claim your VAT at the airport with the forms you get from the merchant and once you reached our shores, just walk through the green lane.

As long as you are NOT buying to resell, it is ok.

Also, watches are duty free. So, only sales (GST) tax apply.