Author Topic: Panerai for a Rolex  (Read 2743 times)

Offline HarleMec

Panerai for a Rolex
« on: June 28, 2023, 09:11:31 PM »
Selamat Hari Raya Aldiladha and happy holiday all in advance.

Would appreciate some advice and thoughts from sifu2 and fellow friends here, I currently have a PAM111 that I've been wearing quite frequently and I really do enjoy wearing it. It's also been the ONLY one that capture the most attention among my circle of friends/colleagues. Have to admit that I do also enjoy the attention. As compared to my 16570 and my black bay bronze.

I'm still relatively new to watches, I buy and wear them coz I like them and it gives me a sense of achievement. I'm very shallow like that :p

I've had the liking of the blue dial OP39 for a long time, but I've never pulled the trigger because it's a much smaller watch than what I'm used to. Certainly, not as eye catchy as the pam. The dial colour and overall minimalistic look just speaks to me everytime I look at it, but I also like the PAM111 as much.

I have a limit of owning no more than 5 watches so one of my watches has got to go.

I don't plan to sell the 16750 as it's my first rolex, and I still want to keep the bb bronze so I can see how it'd patina eventually. I dress very casual typically, tee shirt, jeans, shorts, slippers...do you think selling the pam and replacing it with the OP39 be something that I'd have a higher risk of regret? does is dress down well? what do you think :)

they're quite different in everyway but it'll be great to hear some of your thoughts. Thanks in advance!

Offline dpkong

Re: Panerai for a Rolex
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2023, 09:24:30 PM »

1. You will lose money on the PAM111 when selling. If you like it that much, you will regret it

2. The OP39 is a nice watch but I don't think selling one you really like for one that you think you will like is a good idea.

3. Since I dislike any bronze watch, that would be the one to flip.

Offline G.MAC