Author Topic: Newbie's numerous queries  (Read 4250 times)

Offline new_bie

Newbie's numerous queries
« on: September 10, 2012, 06:49:00 PM »
sifu sifu sekalian
I am a newbie when it comes to mechanical automatic watches.
I've been reading the forum and found out that there are many info that one can learn here.
I'd like to get some advice from all the sifu here...
I am thinking of getting an automatic watch that is between RM8k-RM10k
1. Is it true that all automatic watches at this range need to be serviced on a periodical basis?
2. I read that the service charge is around 10% of the watch cost. How often is this periodical ? Once every 5 years?
3. I'm thinking of a dinner watch (a fancy one). Based on affordability & my limited knowledge, I've seen Baume et Mercier & Maurice Lacroix... any other brand that is within my range and makes good dinner watches?
4. However, as I read this forum, seems like ML and BM is not that famous. There are comments that ML makes good watches but they only focus on Asia (thus less popular in EU and US). There are not many comments on BM.
5. Some of the Tag Heuer also falls within my range, but seems that Tag is not that famous here. Any particular reason(s)?

Sorry for the many questions, but the advice from the sifus here are greatly appreciated.

Offline hanz079

• Global Moderator
  • I is Rocks!!
    • WATCHIONABLE
Re: Newbie's numerous queries
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2012, 07:20:31 PM »
Welcome.

As to your questions.

1. Yes, all mechanical watches need to be serviced periodically (4-6 years) as the lubricant will dry up over time.

2. Costs of servicing a watch varies from brand to brand but 10% sound close.

3. Dress watches that you mentioned are quite good. I once owned a Maurice Lacroix and I have no complaints. No experience of BM though.

4. Actually in this forum, we're interested in watches... does not matter what brand. Search around and I am sure there are a few ML owners here. for BM... I am not too sure.