Author Topic: Accuracy of your Automatic watches  (Read 13690 times)

Offline Christcwl9

Accuracy of your Automatic watches
« on: May 18, 2018, 06:24:34 AM »
Dear all, let’s share about the accuracy of your automatic watches.

I’m new to watches, recently just bought a Tissot Le Locle Powermatic 80. I noticed that my new watch losing 3 seconds every 24 hours, despite I’ve been wearing it every day.

Is this normal ? As I know new watches should gain time instead ?? Kindly please advise ??

Offline Hy8ogen

• Freshie
Re: Accuracy of your Automatic watches
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2018, 02:04:46 PM »
Losing three seconds a day is pretty good for an entry level watch. My Seiko 5 (which I still love) gains 18s a day.

My Omega AT 8900 which is METAS certified gains about 1.5s each day.

As long as your watch is -5 to +5 I'd say it's keeping pretty good time.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

Offline Christcwl9

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2018, 03:15:10 PM »
Thanks for your reply bro. I’m just worried as the watch is losing but not gaining time :/ I’m afraid it might be due to the reason that the watch was produced in year 2015, and stay at the shop until I bought it recently in year 2018.

So far, my watch has never gained any seconds yet :/

Offline Hy8ogen

• Freshie
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2018, 08:16:45 AM »
Not gaining seconds is not a sign of fault my man. If you're really irritated about it just send it in for a regulation service. It would cost you some money, cheaper if you go for independent watch maker.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

Offline summerdragon

• Freshie
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2018, 11:47:44 AM »
Yeah, for me within 10s lose or gain should be fine with ETA movement, more than that should go for a service. The watch performance does alter over years, perhaps 5 more years for you to wear it b4 u need to consider about it.

Offline Christcwl9

« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2018, 08:34:49 PM »