Author Topic: Long time stalker...new joiner  (Read 4836 times)

Offline i_y_yusof

Long time stalker...new joiner
« on: February 22, 2019, 07:12:02 AM »
Hi Malaysian watchfam!

I'm a long time stalker to MWF. Love reading on all the opinions of the sifus here and decided to join in the fun. A little intro on myself.

I have always appreciated watches since I was given a Seiko Kinetic Auto Relay on my 16th birthday. I loved how I never have to set the time because the watch will reset itself. Then I graduated and was given my first automatic by my aunt. It is a ML Pontos GMT, which is still one of my favourite piece, even after 15 years. My appreciation grew but always dismiss that watch collecting was the realm of rich folks.

About 8 years ago, my ML died and I thought that there was a component that broke. Thinking it would be expensive to repair, and going through a financial difficult period, I let it sleep in my drawer. Fast forward to about 2 years ago, a chance conversation with a colleague led to a recommendation of an affordable watchmaker. So, I sent my watch there. It seems I only needed to service the watch  :Laughing_on_floor:.

The conversation also went towards watch brands, type, makes and prices. It was then I discovered the world of affordable watches. He recommended an online dealer of vintage and affordable piece. From there, it was no turning back from this rabbit hole. I started learning about watches and got into this hobby full on.

Surmise to say, two years later, my collection grew from 4 watches (mostly gifts) to about 18 (and counting). Got into Seikos, learned about Orient and dipped into the affordable Swiss. then, there's straps collecting as well. In short, I like to say a big "HI!" to everyone. I am looking forward to learn and share more about this great hobby of ours.

Offline Watchgrocer

• Freshie
    • Join us on our Facebook page
Re: Long time stalker...new joiner
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2019, 10:11:12 AM »
Hello,