Author Topic: Seiko VS Certina  (Read 7614 times)

Offline felix1318

Seiko VS Certina
« on: October 21, 2018, 06:27:40 PM »
Hello, I'm new to watch collecting, and new to the forum :)

Quick question, I was interested with the Seiko Prospect Diver's watch Automatic with manual winding at 1st, then I saw Certina DS Action Diver Powermatic 80 which is also a nice diver's watch but with double the price. As I am a poor bastard, just wanted to know is the Certina worth getting? Or just save some RM and get the Seiko?

Thank you.

Offline Omnipotent

Re: Seiko VS Certina
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2018, 07:42:16 PM »
Seiko

Offline meoramri

• Global Moderator
    • My Eastern Watch Collection
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2018, 05:55:55 AM »
Get the Seiko first..
Main watch blog visit: http://easternwatch.blogspot.com

Offline felix1318

« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2018, 06:17:12 AM »
Thx for the advice, but I've read somewhere saying that the movement 4R35 of the Seiko is not that good, and the accuracy on it is +45 to -35 seconds per day, stated in Seiko Official Website. I don't know much about Certina brand tho, but I know It's swiss made...

Offline freefighter

« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2018, 06:57:17 AM »
The 4R series of Seiko Movements are the most entry-level of all Seiko mechanical watches. Seiko reserves their mid-end 6R for pricier watches, and their highest end 9R for Grand Seiko.

Certina is actually a brand under the Swatch group and as such, benefits from ETA (the world's biggest movement maker) now supplying to all Swatch group brands (including the famed Omega, Longines etc.) almost exclusively. However, they are one of those that no one really recognises.